Home A project of States Newsroom
Idaho’s Salmon-Challis National Forest names new supervisor


Idaho’s Salmon-Challis National Forest names new supervisor

Dec 06, 2023 | 6:20 am ET
By Brydon Black
Idaho’s Salmon-Challis National Forest names new supervisor
The Frank Church-River of No Return is a wilderness of steep, rugged mountains, deep canyons and wild, whitewater rivers. Pictured here is Buck Lake on July 25, 2020. (Courtesy of the U.S. Forest Service)

Intermountain Regional Forester Mary Farnsworth has picked Heather Degeest as the next forest supervisor for Idaho’s Salmon-Challis National Forest, replacing Charles Mark.

“Her strong leadership experience will help the forest experience continued success in delivering the Forest Service mission to the public,” Farnsworth said in a press release. 

Heather Degeest
Heather Degeest will serve as the new forest supervisor of the Salmon-Challis National Forest. (Courtesy of the U.S. Forest Service)

Degeest started her Forest Service career in 2000 as a forestry technician in the Gallatin National Forest, the release said. Degeest took a forester position in Gallatin, then served in multiple roles with the Northern Region timber strike team, eventually as the team lead, the release said.

According to the release, Degeest became the Townsend District Ranger in 2010, the Helena District ranger in 2013 and deputy forest supervisor on the Salmon-Challis National Forest since fall of 2019.

“I am honored to serve as the next Salmon-Challis National Forest supervisor,” Degeest said in the release. “I look forward to working with our communities, partners, cooperators, tribes, and industries to accomplish the important work that will shape the use of our public lands now and in the future.”

According to the U.S. Forest Service, the Salmon-Challis National Forest covers around 4.3 million acres in east-central Idaho. Within the forest’s borders is 2.3 million acres of the Frank Church- River of No Return Wilderness Area, the largest contiguous wilderness area in the continental United States.